Lifeblog – How to …

what you always wanted to know about Nokia Lifeblog

…use Lifeblog 2.X on the PC with Lifeblog 1.X on the phone

with 17 comments

Unfortunately, Nokia distributes the mobile Lifeblog 2.X versions only for Nseries devices. There is only one serious flaw about the Nseries: not everybody owns one. Just take my wife as an example: she owns a 6670.
So how can you use Lifeblog 2.X together with non-Nseries devices? I see three options:

  • Option A (if you have a Nokia S60 phone): check from the official Nokia Lifeblog page, whether your phone supports Lifeblog 1.X. If it does, download the application from the same pages and install it on your phone.
    On your PC, install the latest version of Lifeblog. Nobody requires you to own an Nseries device in order to do so. Neither do you need a license for Lifeblog 2.X. ๐Ÿ™‚
    After you have installed Lifeblog 2.X, go to the directory where you have installed Lifeblog to, e.g., C:\Program Files\Nokia\Nokia Lifeblog. In this directory, you will find a file called “SyncConfig.xml”. This file you need to modify in order to get Lifeblog 2.X to work with Lifeblog 1.X on the phone:
    1) Make a backup of any existing Lifeblog data – but that’s part of your routine anyway, isn’t it? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    2) Create a copy of “SyncConfig.xml”
    3) Open “SyncConfig.xml” with your prefered editor; in the worst case, plain “Notepad” will do
    4) Remove the comment that encompasses the first <Adapter> element
    5) Save “SyncConfig.xml”
    Afterwards, you will be able to read the data from the mobile Lifeblog 1.X into PC Lifeblog 2.X. You might not get all the metadata that Lifeblog 2.X supports. And the user experience might be a bit special. And Nokia doesn’t support it. But for my wife and her 6670 it works fine. ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Option B (if your device connects to your PC as a hard drive): Then, you can import compatible data via “File->Import from PC” into Lifeblog. More elegantly, you can drag and drop the device folder onto Lifeblog’s timeline. Lifeblog scans any given directory recursively and will figure out by itself, which files it can use. However, you are back to pre-Nseries metadata stoneage here: if you want to use metadata with your stuff, you have to add it yourself.
  • Option C (if your device does not connect to your PC as a hard drive): You are pretty much on your own. Meaning: you have to figure out a way how to transfer images, etc. from this device to the PC. Afterwards, you can import stuff into Lifeblog from the PC. Not very elegant, I am afraid.
Written by lifeb

September 4, 2006 at 4:49 pm

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the information, I don’t know anything about editing .xml files, so I opened that file with “notebook”, but I don’t know exactly what line to delete, can you help me? Also, could you explain better what is going to be different than lifeblog 1.x? Because I want to sync my text messages, is the most I sync but I’m afraid they don’t sync right with this new version of Lifeblog and my Nokia 7610. Thanks.

    Carlos

    September 7, 2006 at 8:51 pm

  2. A comment -in this case- looks like this:

    <!- –
    <Adapter>

    </Adapter>
    – ->

    You now remove the comment by removing the two strings

    “<!- -” (before the first “<Adapter>” line)
    “- ->” (after the first “</Adapter>” line)

    Resulting in:

    blabla
    <!– Sync adapter for SyncML server and Lifeblog 1.x phones –>

    <Adapter>

    </Adapter>
    blabla

    Hope that is clearer now.

    And about the text messages: you will get the text messages out of the 7610 into Lifeblog 2.X on the PC. But if you haven’t marked them as “Favourite” before synching, they will be gone from the phone.

    lifeb

    September 7, 2006 at 9:15 pm

  3. I get an incompatible lifeblog on phone error after following your steps, using the latest 2.1.131 PC version, and 1.5.56 on my s60 compatible 6632.

    Any chance there was an update to PC lifeblog to fix your “work around?”

    strat

    September 25, 2006 at 12:12 am

  4. Actually, this message will also come if you haven’t edited the SyncConfig.xml file at all.

    There are two (main) possibilities: the comment around the first adapter element is still there or something else went wrong when you edited the file.

    lifeb

    September 29, 2006 at 9:25 pm

  5. Thanks for your response, it worked just fine!. Cheers from Mexico.

    Carlos

    November 16, 2006 at 8:53 pm

  6. Do you have any clues for running (any) version of Lifeblog on an E-series phone? Or at least how to get the PC-Lifeblog to import the text messages from the phone? It does connect via the PC suite, and also as a hard disk.
    I’ve been looking all over for this…

    rincewind

    February 2, 2007 at 5:29 pm

  7. Terribly sorry about the long delay, rincewind.

    Unfortunately, the simple answer to the question whether Lifeblog and E-series phones are compatible is: they are not. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Unfortunately, there is a series of issues – and depending on the e-model that you are using one, several or all of them apply:
    * Lifeblog sis files need to be signed for a specific phone, but they are not signed for e-series devices.
    * Lifeblog sis files are only available for older S60 versions. Newer N-series models have Lifeblog in ROM.
    * Some devices need specific adaptation, especially for importing data automatically and for displaying thumbnails nicely.

    lifeb

    April 15, 2007 at 5:39 pm

  8. Thank You very match!!! Great job! No more ugly PC lifeblog 1.x!

    bodya

    February 23, 2008 at 5:04 pm

  9. I have a N73 & updated phone software recently.
    Lifeblog was working fine before but after update when I try to upload photo’s from phone to PC it now says no Lifeblog installed on phone. I checked Application manager on the phone & no it’s not there anymore.
    I can’t find anywhere on the web to download the App for the phone, any ideas please.

    Thanks cru80s

    cru80s

    March 8, 2008 at 1:27 pm

  10. OMG, you are a genius! This has been bothering me for aaages! Especially since I originally paid for the old version of Lifeblog which is now no longer supported. I heart you!

    Liss

    September 24, 2008 at 4:13 pm

  11. Oh, and also.. I now have a new 6220 Classic which I don’t think is compatible with Lifeblog at all… Or is there an old phone version that would be compatible with the phone, do you think?

    Liss

    September 24, 2008 at 4:17 pm

  12. I am afraid to say that there is no Lifeblog version that is compatible with the Nokia 6220.

    lifeb

    September 24, 2008 at 8:52 pm

  13. thank you so much for this post! i was about to give up on Lifeblog and then I found this how-to! It really saved me. I just downloaded the Lifeblog 2.x and found that it was incompatible with my old 6630 nokia. I was so bumbed because most of the entries I wanted to transfer were in that unit. I followed your suggestion and it worked like a charm. Thank you soooo much!

    Ces

    February 4, 2009 at 6:12 pm

  14. Hi. I have a 6630 and for a while used LifeBlog, but I dropped it off the phone to get back space for other apps. Now I’d like to reinstall it but I now can’t find the SIS in my own files or on Nokia’s site (guess my phone is now old technology … ). Anyone know where I can find the SIS for the 6630?

    Andy Williams

    February 16, 2009 at 2:34 am

  15. Yes! Persistence (and up-dating) pays off! Found the LifeBlog SIS (V.1.6) in my old OLD downloads and installed it (see below re certificate issue), up-dated the 6630’s Firmware to latest spec, clean installed PC Suite and LifeBlog2, made the XML changes in LifeBlog2, held my breath, synched — and — it worked! Sweet! Now, if anyone wants the SIS for the 6630 (and other Nokias of that generation I guess) just let me know.

    To install the SIS you need to change the phone’s date back to 2006 as the certificate of the SIS is now out of date (a known problem), but once installed on the 6630 you change the 6630’s date back to the right one and LifeBlog still works. Now all I have to decide is if I’ll get an N95 after all … but that’s another story …

    thingumybob

    February 24, 2009 at 12:12 am

  16. from where i can download nokia lifeblog 1.5 for pc & mobile. i have nokia 3230 mobile phone

    Anil Martand

    March 27, 2009 at 1:16 pm

  17. hey thanks for info… i need lil’ favor from you guys if you could mail me lifeblog.sis application for N96. I would be grateful to you guys. As this lifeblog is discontinued by nokia so that’s the reason why I am dropping in here.

    peace
    anubhav.xeno@gmail.com

    xeno

    August 16, 2009 at 5:06 pm


Leave a Reply

